TASTE & POWER

RIP Bert Jansch

Posted in Faith, Gossip, Music, Religion by TASTE & POWER on October 6, 2011

“I’m not one for showing off. But I guess my guitar-playing sticks out.”

-Bert Jansch

1943-2011

Rest in peace, Bert Jansch.  I have loved your music ever since I discovered your 1965 self-titled debut record in Twisted Village’s legendary Cambridge basement store.  I have since collected several others, and I will cherish them forever.  You were better than Nick Drake.

and Donovan loved you maybe most of all.

there are two of them!

For those skeptical as to the veracity of my claim as to his superior musical sens-abilities, here’s Fahey’s version for comparison.  By no means a bad recording, just not as good as Bert Jansch’s masterpiece.

To be fair, I believe he did record a better version of the song at some point, though I’m too lazy to go digging through my records to verify this, but I have done extensive surveys with that version, and the vote is unanimous…after playing the two songs back to back, Bert’s version kills it.

Anyways, enough with that shit, right?  Here’s another amazing song by Bert.

He was also a founding member of the band Pentangle.

Black Waterside

Blues Run the Game

Bert Jansch play’s “Angie”

And that’s how you play a guitar.

Leave a Reply

